2019 Reading Goals: Quarterly Check-In

Hello my friends! I decided to take an extended break from book blogging for a number of reasons. First, work was extremely insane during the month of March. Then, I decided to better myself by taking a few free courses online over some different subjects. Never stop learning! The other reason for my hiatus is that I was having some struggles with reading and getting my thoughts down in a coherent format. In my research on this terrible matter, I learned that reader’s block is a very real affliction! The good news is that I believe the storm has passed, and I’m back on the right path. I thought a good place to restart would be in the form of a check-in to see how much progress I have made toward my 2019 goals.

my 2019 reading goals

#1 Read and review at least 75 books (12/75): Unfortunately, I am not as far along on the path as I would like. Although 12 books are completed, I have reviewed only 8 of them so the next two weeks are all about getting those reviews written. The good news is that my next review is on a book that has become an all-time favorite, The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky. I’m very excited to write this review as well as explore another writer that has endeared himself to me. I recently finished some short stories by the phenomenal Gabriel García Márquez, and without a doubt I’m a changed reader.

#2 Read more of my own damn books and slow down on the book buying: Considering I just bought a bunch of books at a sale, I think this goal will be harder than I thought. Don’t judge me!

stop it GIF

#3 Read 20 Books off my Classics Club list (3/20): I have been pleased with my choices so far and look forward to reviewing more classics in 2019.

#3 Back to the Classics Challenge (2/12): I read two great science fiction classics so far for this challenge. Going forward, I plan to continue to read some classic sci-fi with a couple of selections in other genres.

#4 TBR Pile Challenge (5/12): Although I’ve finished five books for this challenge, I still need to catch up on reviews. One of my upcoming reviews will be David Mitchell’s surreal number9dream.

neil patrick harris thumbs up GIF by bubly

#5 European Reading Challenge (3/50): One of my goals is to read more works from around the world. I already have some great titles on my shelves, so hopefully I will increase this number in the near future.

#6 Jane Austen Challenge (2/6): This has been one of my favorite challenges for this year as I’m a proud Janeite. I’m excited to reread all of her main novels.

#7 Nonfiction Reading Challenge (0/10): Yikes! I really need to get my butt in gear. Hopefully, no more reader’s block.

read adventure time GIF

Finally, here are my three favorite books for the first quarter of 2019:

Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austen

Widdershins by Charles de Lint

The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

I will continue to update progress for my 2019 Reading Challenges throughout the year. Hopefully, April will prove to be an excellent reading month.

How are your reading challenges going? Let me know with a comment below!

5 thoughts on “2019 Reading Goals: Quarterly Check-In

  1. Allison Davis

    Nice check in! I love that we both have Sense and Sensibility as one of our top three titles this quarter! I’ve been dealing with a bit of Reader’s Block myself. Hope yours cleared up!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Joel Getter

      Thanks Allison! I really loved reading S&S for the second time. It looks like my reader’s block has passed, and I’m looking forward to posting my thoughts on ‘number9dream’ soon. I hope your reader’s block clears up too.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Allison Davis

        Thanks. I think the issue is I’m reading a number of difficult books. So while I LIKE them, I can’t read them for long. Perhaps I need to break them up with something a little lighter.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Joel Getter

        I have to do the same thing. I try to break up harder books with something lighter or a collection of short stories.

        Like

Leave a comment