Jane Austen Made Me a Better Person

It all began with a little book called Sense and Sensibility. Although I cannot recall the reason I selected it at the time, it turned out to be the beginning of a beautiful reading relationship. My little bookish life was changed forever when I discovered Jane Austen. Her novels showed me that classic literature is not only relevant but also easily accessible. I will admit that it felt strange being a male follower in a predominantly female-dominated fandom. However, this did not deter me. I continued following Austen through Northanger Abbey, Pride and Prejudice, and so on until I completed all of her finished novels. I even read her unfinished works and loved those too.

AUSTEN
I may be slightly enamored.

During my first blogging year, I discovered that I was not alone in my male devotion to Ms. Austen. I found this great book called A Jane Austen Education by William Deresiewicz. Although he originally approached the idea of reading an Austen novel with disdain, he quickly learned that her words hold valuable wisdom. His personal journey through all six Austen novels inspired him to write this book demonstrating an important lesson he took from each of them. Deresiewicz has given the world a truly unique love letter to one of the greatest writers ever to grace this world.

So now I’m inspired to write this week’s blog about my personal journey through the books of Jane Austen in the order I originally read them. Links are provided below to the ones I’ve reviewed since starting this blog.

Sense and Sensibility

Interestingly enough, Austen’s first published novel was the first one I ever read. I remember picking it up because I had a shelf full of classics and wanted to say I’ve actually read some of them. Although I don’t remember every aspect of the reading experience, I do recall finishing it in just two days. I often struggle with classic literature, but Austen’s prose is just so easily accessible. There’s also a confidence to her writing. Austen knows exactly the rules of her world and paints a picture of it quite effortlessly. Reading Sense and Sensibility was such a relaxing experience for me as I got to know the Dashwood sisters and their struggles to find true love.

Out of all the great quotes from this novel (and there are many), my favorite would have to be the following:

“I wish, as well as everybody else, to be perfectly happy; but, like everybody else, it must be in my own way.”

We should never define ourselves by someone else’s happiness. Sure, most of us want the same things: great health, a loving family, an enjoyable career. However, you should never measure yourself next to the person standing next to you. Sense and Sensibility focuses on two sisters, Elinor (sense) and Marianne (sensibility). Although we develop our more logical halves as we get older, I think it’s important never to lose our younger romantic natures. As we grow in our maturity, sometimes that spirit of adventure fades. We shouldn’t let this happen. Remember we only get one turn in this great game of life so seek personal happiness. Be the best individual you that you can be.

And read Sense and Sensibility!

Image result for sense and sensibility gifs

Northanger Abbey

While Sense and Sensibility kicked off my fascination with Austen, Northanger Abbey totally ignited it. My rankings of the others shift sometimes, but this one always manages to stay number one. I’m a huge fan of satire, and Austen completely nails it with one of the most fascinating heroines I’ve ever encountered. Catherine Morland is a young lady defined by her extremely healthy imagination. She loves Gothic novels with Ann Radcliffe’s Mysteries of Udolpho as her favorite. Of course, her love of the fantastic gets her into a spot of trouble. I love everything about this novel: the humor, the setting, and the character interactions are all beautifully executed. Catherine’s love of reading is matched only be her devotion to her friends.

“There is nothing I would not do for those who are really my friends. I have no notion of loving people by halves, it is not my nature.”

Catherine teaches us the importance of how we treat others. Even when she makes mistakes, she does so in the name of friendship. We have to approach our interactions with others as we do with ourselves, giving everything we have. Adam over at Roof Beam Reader has written two fantastic articles, the first one titled “Considering the Secret of Northanger Abbey”in addition to his own journey titled “Me and Jane Austen.” Both articles are wonderful and worth reading.

Another important lesson we can take from the novel is the need to be open and willing to grow. If personal happiness is the ultimate goal, curiosity and wonder at the world should be right there beside it.

ABBEY

Pride and Prejudice

Shockingly it took three tries to finally get to Austen’s most celebrated novel. Was there ever a couple more perfect for one another than Elizabeth and Darcy? Sure they took the long way to make that discovery, but they got there at the end. At this point in my own journey with Austen, I realized something quite valuable. There’s always a happy ending. Underneath all the misunderstandings and wrong turns, everything works out well in the end. I think that’s one of the appeals to these books. We take comfort and solace in the fact that the lives of the characters work out as they should. If only real life could be so simple.

First impressions can sometimes be misleading. Life is often defined by the mistakes we make. If we stay open to growth and learn from them, we have a much better chance of coming out unscathed. Also, get a grip on guilt! Like me, many people become focused on their mistakes and let it weigh them down. We have to make peace with ourselves or that happiness will always allude us.

“I must learn to be content with being happier than I deserve.”

Communication is key. Own up to past mistakes. Apologize if you feel you have done someone a disservice. Be open.

Image result for pride and prejudice gifs

Persuasion

Last year, I participated in Austen in August and won this beautiful illustrated edition of Persuasion courtesy of the Folio Society! I’m so scared to touch it! I still have my older paperback version that marked my first experience with reading one of the most mature of all of the Austen novels. I use the term “mature” to describe it because it feels like the most serious of her works. Don’t worry, Persuasion still has all of the elements that make it an Austen novel. It just holds a slightly different feel than the others.

DSC_0556

All of the life lessons I’ve mentioned above come into play in this novel. Anne Elliot is the oldest of Austen’s heroines, and at the age of 27 is practically considered a spinster. We soon learn that years ago, Anne broke off her engagement to Frederic Wentworth off the advice of a close friend. The result of this breakup leads to years of suffering and regret. One day, Wentworth comes back into her life but appears unattainable.

“When pain is over, the remembrance of it often becomes a pleasure.”

Although happiness can be found, we will have some sufferings along the way. There’s no avoiding this truth. As we get older and wiser, we hopefully learn what’s truly important. While friendship is valuable, we should not allow ourselves to be pushed into making a decision. We have to trust in our own wisdom as well.

Mansfield Park

I’m really glad I waited to read Mansfield Park for the first time after completing some other Austen novels. Personally, I found it be the most complex out of all of her novels. Many critics want to argue that Austen only wrote about trivial matters that held no importance. First, I’ll argue that this is not true as our interactions with others is extremely important. Also, there are some subtle messages found in her books. In regards to Mansfield Park, there are a couple of small references to the horrors of colonialism. I’ve only read this one once so far, but I really want to give it a reread in the near future.

“We have all a better guide in ourselves, if we would attend to it, than any other person can be.”

Poor and introverted Fanny Price is often mistreated in the novel. Don’t worry, things work out at the end. I think it’s important that we listen to others as they share their stories with us. Each one of us has a personal story to tell, and the highest level of respect we can give is to listen to each other. If it’s important to you, then it’s important.

Image result for mansfield park gifs

Sanditon

During one of my trips to the beach, I brought along a completed version of this novel. Austen tragically passed away after completing eleven chapters of Sanditon. Another author took the liberty of finishing the story.

Sanditon centers on Charlotte Heywood, the eldest daughter of a large country family. After a chance meeting with a young couple, Charlotte is invited to be their guest at their home in Sandition, promised to be a new summer tourist attraction. Charlotte meets a whole cast of eccentric characters with varying degrees of absurdity. It is such a tragedy that Austen’s original vision couldn’t be realized, but I was extremely delighted with the skill of her “collaborator.” I’m also looking forward to the upcoming television adaptation.

“The novels which I approve are such as display human nature with grandeur.”

While reading the opening fragment to this book, I couldn’t help but be impressed with the beautiful vitality of this work. Austen was very ill and rapidly approaching her final days, and yet she created this rich work that may have been her greatest. It was almost as though she thought the healing properties of this resort would help strengthen her own condition. Even near death, Austen wrote with an energy that seemed inexhaustible. I want to be able to approach all my work with such a strong passion.

Image result for sanditon pics

Emma

This is the novel that set Deresiewicz on his great love affair. For me, it was the last original read. Fortunately, there’s no incorrect reading order when it comes to Austen.

“I always deserve the best treatment because I never put up with any other.”

Emma Woodhouse is a dichotomy within herself. She is lovely yet quite snobbish. She is caring yet an incorrigible meddler in the love lives of her friends. Emma believes herself to be quite knowledgeable regarding the affairs of the heart yet suffers from horrible self-delusions. Despite her shortcomings, we cannot help but fall in love with dear Emma. The reason why she is in our affections is because Austen manages to carry us along throughout all of her romantic delusions. Also, Emma is quite charming and always has her heart in the right place. The book itself is written in what could arguably be considered Austen’s strongest narration as she manages to compose a completely third-person narrative but distorts the language in such a way that we are going right along with Emma’s delusional thinking.

Despite her shortcomings, Emma is a character who is confident in herself. She doesn’t spend the novel swooning over someone. She puts herself on the pedestal. Austen claimed that Emma was unlikable. I would politely disagree. Sure, she had work to do in order to improve her judgement of others, but Emma teaches us that it’s alright to love ourselves a little. It’s alright to feel like you deserve the best.

DSC_0558

If you are reading this slightly longer article for this week, I hope you gained some inspiration from it. Maybe I’ve encouraged you to read (or reread) an Austen novel. There are definitely worse ways to be spending your time. Please relax, enjoy, and be good to yourself.

What is your favorite Jane Austen novel? What life lessons have you gained from reading her books? Sound off with a comment below. I would love to discuss!

18 thoughts on “Jane Austen Made Me a Better Person

  1. Al @ mounttoberead

    I’ve been slowly rereading going from favorite to least favorite (current order is Persuasion, Pride and Prejudice, Northanger Abbey, Mansfield Park, Sense and Sensibility, and Emma.) Sadly, I do have a very hard time with Emma. I had a “friend” in high school who was basically Emma, and boy was getting out of that relationship a good thing! I think if I have any extra reading time this year, I’ll go ahead and finish up my Austen reread. And if not, maybe next year I’ll add it into my reading goals.

    Funny enough though, I can’t remember the order I first read the Austen novels in, other than my first one was Northanger Abbey when I was in eighth grade. I’m pretty sure Pride and Prejudice and Sense and Sensibility were next. However, I also know I saw the film versions of at least three of her novels before I even read them.

    Ugh… Maybe I’ll go reread them now.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Al @ mounttoberead

        The movie adaptations run the gamut of amazing to WTF? I encourage you to go in with an open mind, and to not visit anywhere that people may be asking which the best adaptation is. People are very, VERY passionate about their favorite film adaptation.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Adam @ Roof Beam Reader

    You’re definitely not alone as a male Austen fan. Wonderful thoughts, here, and thanks for sharing my essay on Northanger Abbey. Do you mind if I link up another? It’s called “Me and Jane Austen,” and I explain my own journey toward reading appreciating her. https://roofbeamreader.com/2015/08/26/me-and-jane-austen-austeninaugustrbr-2/

    (Also just a quick note – Sanditon doesn’t have the second i in it. Seems like it should be Sandition, because that sounds better, but Sanditon is supposed to sound more like “Sandy Town.”)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I loved this post, Joel! I’m hoping to pick up A Jane Austen Education later this month, so I’m glad to hear you enjoyed it so much. Jane Austen has definitely made me a better person too and I can’t imagine my life without her works. I discovered Pride and Prejudice as a pre-teen and quickly went on to read the other five completed novels. If I had to pick a favorite, it would be Persuasion at the moment. I’d definitely recommend reading Lady Susan and then watching the recent adaptation (which is actually titled “Love & Friendship”).

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: The Beautiful Tragedy of Jane Austen’s Final Novel – I Would Rather Be Reading

  5. Pingback: 41. ‘Sense & Sensibility’ by Joanna Trollope – I Would Rather Be Reading

  6. Pingback: What Are My Preferred Classics? – I Would Rather Be Reading

  7. Pingback: Celebrating Ten Years of The Classics Club! – I Would Rather Be Reading

  8. Pingback: I Finished My First Classics Club List! – I Would Rather Be Reading

Leave a comment