Book Review: Cursed Bunny by Bora Chung

This year, I’ve made it a personal quest to read more short story collections. It’s been going much better than expected, and I’ve had the pleasure of reading some incredible short stories from some of the most brilliant writers of contemporary fiction. During this journey, I discovered a couple of interesting trends: all the short story collections I’ve read are from women writers, and the works are extremely dark. Two of these books come from the genius of Korean author Bora Chung. I read her first book, Cursed Bunny, back in February. When I was finished, I knew immediately that I would be reading her recent follow-up, Your Utopia, and so I reserved it from my local library. While I was originally planning to review both together, I’ve decided to keep them separate, as they are quite different stylistically. One leans more toward horror, while the other is heavily science fiction. So let’s discuss the delightfully twisted tales of Cursed Bunny!

Cursed Bunny (2017) by Bora Chung and translated by Anton Hur; Photo Credit: Natalie Getter (Rating: 5 out of 5 stars!)

This is the most varied assortment of stories I’ve ever encountered in one book! I thought I knew what I was getting into with this collection, particularly as the first two stories were firmly rooted in body horror. The opener titled “The Head” is so disgusting that the less I say about it, the better. You’ll just have to read it to see what I mean. The second tale called “The Embodiment” is so surreal and Kafkaesque, as a woman becomes inexplicably pregnant despite never having been with anyone. Rather than provide any sympathetic advice, however, her physician tells her that in order to have a normal baby, this young mother will have to find a suitable father. The story then becomes an allegory on parenting and the pressures of a woman in Korea believing she must have a man in her life. Chung infuses both of these opening stories with a lot of humor, but it doesn’t take long for them to become so disturbing. I completely loved these stories, and, rightfully so, was mistaken in believing that all ten stories would be works of horror. Far from it, as Chung proves she is adept at moving from genre to genre with equal skill.

For example, “Goodbye, My Love” is fully in the science fiction vein, focusing on a scientist and her relationships with the androids she creates. While she works through the difficult decision to send her first ever creation back to the factory as it’s become obsolete, she wonders if perhaps the android has feelings about this as well. “Snare” is a dark version of the classic golden goose fable, while “Ruler of the Winds and Sands” is a fantasy fable taking place on a desert world. In this one, a princess embarks on a mission to restore the sight of the prince she is to marry, only to discover that things are not as they seem, and that human nature is a terrible thing.

Another group of stories take a darker and supernatural approach. One of the best horror shorts I’ve ever read is called “The Frozen Finger” and is a claustrophobic story of a woman trapped in a sinking car in complete darkness with only a cold hand for company and support. It’s so chilling! (no pun intended). Another favorite from this collection, “Reunion,” is a clever ghost story that takes the reader in so many directions, leading us to examine the darkness that exists in each of us. I’d be remiss if I didn’t mention the title story of this phenomenal book. “Cursed Bunny” is told from the point-of-view of a grandfather who takes revenge on a company by gifting them a cursed object, a rabbit lamp shade. As the story unfolds, we see how the curse works on a family but also how it comes back on the grandfather himself.

Overall, Chung’s first collection is an impressive debut, with translator Anton Hur doing an extraordinary job in converting these twisted tales for us English readers to enjoy. Here’s my warning: as impressed as I was with this book, I recognize it’s not for the squeamish or for the faint of heart. I encourage you dear reader to have the courage to check out this intriguing collection from one of my new favorite writers. If you still say Bora Chung is a no-go, I ask that you wait for my review of Your Utopia before making a decision.

“I could finally understand the horrific and cruel clarity of what he considered to be meaningful. The desperation and immense fear that your life, as well as the future to come, hinged on a moment.”-“Reunion”

Have you read this book? I’d love to know your thoughts! Let me know with a comment below.

3 thoughts on “Book Review: Cursed Bunny by Bora Chung

  1. Pingback: Book Review: Your Utopia by Bora Chung – I Would Rather Be Reading

Leave a comment