Classics Club Spin #22: Updated Reveal

Update: Well lucky number 13 means I will be reading the first book in the Gormenghast trilogy. I’m so excited to finally be reading this series! 

After an extended absence from the blogging community, I’m proud to say I’m back. Unfortunately, my reading and my writing have had to take a backseat for the past few weeks. Leave it to The Classics Club to get me back into the thick of it all. The idea is to select 20 random books from your Classics Club List and post them before Sunday, December 22. On Sunday, a number will be chosen which reveals the title that must be read by the end of January. The good news is that means I have a total of six weeks to finish my chosen book!

classics club spin22.gif

  1. The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood
  2. The Sword of Shannara by Terry Brooks
  3. Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll
  4. The Man in the High Castle by Philip K. Dick
  5. Herland by Charlotte Perkins Gilman
  6. Salem’s Lot by Stephen King
  7. The Shining by Stephen King
  8. The Stand by Stephen King
  9. The Left Hand of Darkness by Ursula K. Le Guin
  10. Cloud Atlas by David Mitchell
  11. The Enchanted Castle by Edith Nesbit
  12. 1984 by George Orwell
  13. Titus Groan by Mervyn Peake
  14. Atlas Shrugged by Ayn Rand
  15. The Last Man by Mary Shelley
  16. Dracula by Bram Stoker
  17. Gulliver’s Travels by Jonathan Swift
  18. A Connecticut Yankee in King Arthur’s Court by Mark Twain
  19. Slaughterhouse-Five by Kurt Vonnegut
  20. The Time Machine by H.G. Wells

As you can see from the selections, all of my titles are firmly rooted in sci-fi, horror, and fantasy. I took advantage of the longer window to include some longer works on my list. As always, I will update this post in a week when the spin number is revealed. I also wanted to say thank you to my blogging friends that have been checking up on me. I’ll be back this week with several mini-reviews of the books I’ve read during my extended hiatus.

Confused Godzilla GIF by Turner Classic Movies

 

 

 

9 thoughts on “Classics Club Spin #22: Updated Reveal

  1. Reese Warner

    Ooh, a very fun list. I thought Titus Groan was wacky and wonderful, but it would be a challenge! Connecticut Yankee would be fun and much easier. I’m too easily scared to have much luck with Steven King. But good luck with your spin!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Joel Getter

      Thanks! I’ve been wanting to read Titus Groan for ages. I would be happy with Connecticut Yankee as it would be fun to have something comical.

      Like

Leave a comment