What We’re Reading Wednesday-February 5, 2020

Currently, it is snowing outside my window. As luck would have it, my office is closed which means I get my own snow day! Unfortunately, I’m also sick with a terrible cold so I don’t feel like doing much of anything. However, I want to get back to posting twice a week on this blog. I discovered this cool reading meme from Allison at Mount to Be Read. What We’re Reading Wednesday is hosted by Taking on a World of Words, and I thought it would be a fun way to keep up my motivation. I probably won’t participate weekly, but maybe once or twice per month. It’s quite simple. Just answer these three questions:

What are you currently reading?

I actually have three books going on at once because I’m weird like that. I’m nearly done with the beautiful On Earth We’re Briefly Gorgeous by Ocean Vuong. If you haven’t heard of this one, you should immediately run out and buy it, or check it out from your local library like I did. Written in the form of a letter to his mother who cannot read, it is a poignant examination of race, class and trauma.

I also just started Mansfield Park by Jane Austen. This one is a reread, but it will be my first time reviewing it on this blog. My goal this year is to finish rereading all of Austen’s novels, a goal I began in 2019.

I’m also slowly working through the Gormenghast trilogy by Mervyn Peake. I plan on taking my time through the rest of it as the writing is gorgeous but dense. At some point, I plan to check out the BBC adaption from a few years back.

What did you recently finish reading?

This year is off to a great start, as I’ve loved all four books I’ve read so far. Stephen King’s The Institute was a fantastic sci-fi thriller, perfect for fans of Stranger Things. A Robot in the Garden by Deborah Install was a fun and endearing work about a friendship between a man and a loveable little robotThe Starless Sea by Erin Morgenstern was a glorious fantasy epic nearly a decade in the making. I loved it and plan to reread The Night Circus in the near future. Last but certainly not least, I just finished Titus Groan for Classics Club. Larger than life characters inside an ancient rambling castle was so much fun. The writing was so brilliant that I can’t wait to finish Gormenghast. 

What do you think you’ll read next?

So many options! I’m thinking All the Birds in the Sky by Charlie Jane Anders. I would love to read something to honor Black History Month, so I’m considering Jazz by Toni Morrison. I also have Stephen King’s The Outsider on deck because I can’t get enough King.

What books have you read so far this year? Comment below!

funny reading gif

 

 

5 thoughts on “What We’re Reading Wednesday-February 5, 2020

    1. Joel Getter

      Thanks! I’ve had the books forever so glad I can finally cross the first one off my list! Did you watch the BBC adaptation from a few years ago? I’m considering watching it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s