Welcome to SnapShorts

“A good snapshot stops a moment from running away.“-Eudora Welty

Image result for camera and writing

I’m please to announce an exciting new project on this website called SnapShorts, an artistic collaboration of photographs and writing.

As many of you who follow my website know, my wife is an extremely talented photographer.

You may also know that I’m a not-so-talented writer who has been wanting to create more fiction. I was feeling stuck. Then inspiration struck!

My wife had been wanting to take more pictures with her camera and had been trying to think of some ideas.  It only made sense for us to work together, and so the idea of SnapShorts was born!

Each week, I will post one or two of my wife’s photographs along with a short story of under 350 words. All photographs are done by Natalie Getter with all text completed by Joel Getter (that’s me).

Each week, I will post one or two as blog entries. Following the initial two posts, there will be a new addition each Friday. You can also find SnapShorts in the Writing section of this blog.

Wish us good fortune as we attempt to inspire ourselves.

“It’s possible, in a poem or short story, to write about commonplace things and objects using commonplace but precise language, and to endow those things – a chair, a window curtain, a fork, a stone, a woman’s earring – with immense, even startling power.” – Raymond Carver

Leave a Reply

