Books I’ll Probably Never Read Tag

This week, I thought I would try something completely different. I was inspired to write this by Claire at 50 A Year who was inspired by Booktuber Ariel Bissett. The topic is ‘Books I’ll probably never read’ tag which was originally created by littlespider9 (see what happens when bloggers read other bloggers). Let’s check out what’s on my not-so-hot list.

1) A really hyped book you’re not interested in reading

Although it hasn’t come out yet, I will probably not touch Dan Brown’s latest Robert Langdon thriller. Years ago, I read Dan Brown’s The Da Vinci Code. I remember really liking it, and immediately trying Angels & Demons. I barely made it halfway before going into the abandoned pile. I have yet to touch any of the others by him. So while the upcoming Origin is getting a lot of hype, I don’t think it will be landing on my shelves in the near future.

 confused really golden globes tom hanks golden globes 2014 GIF
Sorry Tom….

2) A series you won’t start/won’t be finishing

In 2016 I read Alive by Scott Sigler. This was the first book of The Generations Trilogy, and I sadly will probably never read the rest. This is unfortunate as I really loved the opening chapters as I tried to figure out what was going on. Several people awaken trapped inside coffins with their memories of the last few years erased. The strangers must learn to work together in order to survive a world that is devoid of adults and littered with dust and bones. This book hooked me until I started to learn the truth about what was happening. Then it turned into a convoluted mess. Considering how big of a science fiction fan I am, this was a letdown. Perhaps the other two books offer some redemption. I will probably never know.

Image result for alive scott sigler
You may be a bestselling author Sir, but I was disappointed

3) A classic that you’re just not interested in

One of my goals for this year is to read a Russian classic in honor of the 100th anniversary of the Russian Revolution. I have some options, but one classic I will probably never read is War and Peace by Leo Tolstoy. Besides sounding incredibly dull, I think it would take me most of an entire year to read it. Sorry Leo.

 drink leonardo dicaprio hd cheers the great gatsby GIF
Yeah wrong Leo, but makes a better GIF

4) Any genres you never read

I hate to answer this question because I usually find a good read in just about any genre. However, I’m not a huge fan of the whole spy thriller books. Sorry to all the fans of Ludlum, Cussler, and the late great Ian Fleming. These just don’t appeal to me.

 austin powers yeah baby yeah baby yeah GIF
Sorry but spy thrillers just aren’t my bag baby.

5) A book on your shelves you’ll probably never actually read

I think the winner for this category has to go to Atlas Shrugged by Ayn Rand. I bought it years ago along with some of her other works, which now sit behind the books I would rather read. Years ago, I read both Anthem and The Fountainhead. Although I actually liked both of these, I can’t seem to make myself read her magnum opus. I don’t even think it has to do with my views on her philosophy but more about how boring this book sounds to me. In the end, I’m going to have to trust the advice of Office Barbrady.

 

Are there any books that you’ll probably never read. Comment below to sound off!

Leave a Reply

