Something Old, Something New: March Book Haul

My latest book haul is a combination of familiar authors and brand new ones. As I turn around and look at my bookshelves, I can see that there is very little space left for anything else. In fact, there is none left. I had to get a little, shall we say “creative” with organizing the books. I’ll have to take a picture of my severe lack of space on a future blog. In the meantime, here are my latest acquisitions:

OLDAUTHORS

  • The Crane Wife by Patrick Ness-My first book review of 2017 was the phenomenal A Monster Calls. I’m curious to read the first adult novel from Patrick Ness.
  • The Fireman by Joe Hill-Years ago, I read both Heart-Shaped Box and Horns from this author.  I’ve heard several positive reviews about this one which is set in a world where people contract a disease that causes them to spontaneously combust!
  • The Elephant Vanishes by Haruki Murakami-This is the first collection of short fiction I’ll be reading from one of my all-time favorites!

In addition to these favorite authors, I picked up some intriguing selections to see if I discover any new favorite ones:

NEWAUTHORS

  • The Bees by Laline Paull-I read a review of this one on a reading blog that I follow. As the title suggest, the entire book takes place in the world of bees.
  • The Marriage Plot by Jeffrey Eugenides-Sadly, I have yet to read anything by this author that has several titles on the 1001 list. I figured this would be a good starter.
  • The Accidental by Ali Smith-Speaking of authors who have made the 1001 list, here is another one I haven’t checked out yet.
  • It’s Kind of a Funny Story by Ned Vizzini-My wife recommended this one, so I’m quite thrilled to check it out. Since I work in the mental health profession, I’m looking forward to reading this one soon.

My short-term reading goals are to start working my way through all my book hauls for the past few months in addition to getting my classic challenge list completed.

Have you read any of the books listed on this post? I would love to hear your thoughts!

Leave a Reply

