So Many Books!

These monthly book haul posts are definitely helping me. Seeing how many books I bring home on the average month makes me realize that I need to pick up the pace. In fact, I’m still trying to knock out books from the past few months! Here are the new additions to my library for January:

haul
Our cat Indy showing off my latest book haul. Photo credit: Natalie Getter
  • The End of Your Life Book Club by Will Schwalbe-The only thing more enjoyable about reading is reading about someone else’s enjoyment of books. This looks to be a tear-jerker of a memoir so I plan to have several tissues handy.
  • Oliver Twist by Charles Dickens-I lost my copy of this at some point, so I thought I better pick this one back up. I chose this as one of my selections for this year’s Back to the Classics Challenge.
  • Silver by Andrew Motion-Speaking of classics, I had no idea someone had written a sequel to Treasure Island! Will my nerd value increase if I say I’m excited for this find?
  • After Dark by Haruki Murakami-I can never say no to one of my all-time favorite writers.
  • The Stories Life of A.J. Fikry by Gabrielle Zevin-This one has been tempting me for a while. I finally grabbed it once it showed up at the used bookstore. I’ve acquired yet another book about a book lover.

In addition to trying to find additional shelf space, I’m diligently working on completing several books to get my numbers off and running for the year. Here’s what I’m currently working on:

  • The Sandman: Preludes and Nocturnes by Neil Gaiman-It’s been awhile since I read any Gaiman, and I recently picked this up during a past book buy.
  • Play Therapy: The Art of the Relationship by Garry L. Landreth-I’ve been working slowly on this one in my efforts to improve my skills at my paying profession. It’s been a great resource for connecting with children through child-directed play therapy.
  • Letters to a Young Therapist by Mary Pipher-This therapist has some terrific insights. I read this years ago and recently acquired a new copy.
  • So many short stories!-I’ve been slowly making my way through the Bradbury collection I received at Christmas in addition to sampling some short stories in other collections with the grand goal of improving my own craft of the small tale.
  • I’m also planning on hitting some classics, most likely getting Oliver Twist knocked out.

It’s no wonder I’m so exhausted! I think I’ll stop there before I stress myself out. Please enjoy the photo my wife took of our cat Indy with my January books. This will definitely not be his last appearance on this blog.

Leave a Reply

