I Would Rather Be Writing

As I agonized over a topic for my next post (yes I take things that seriously), I thought about how my own personal writing has slacked off. In fact if I’m going to be brutally honest, it has become practically nonexistent. I used to write short stories all the time. After posting two of them on this blog, I realize that I miss creative writing. Well it’s time to get back into writing mode! The following are my “writing” resolutions for 2017:

Image result for let's do it gifs

  • Write and edit one story each month:

I have several new short story ideas that I’m ready to get on paper. Ray Bradbury had a work schedule of writing and submitting one short story a week, so I hope I can accomplish one a month.

  • Submit 3 stories to magazines:

This year, I plan to submit some of my work to some magazines. No fear of rejection here! In fact, those rejections will be reminders that I’m actually being proactive.

  • Edit my novel:

Many years ago, I competed in NaNoWriMo and was able to finish a novel. I use the term “novel” loosely because it is a gigantic mess. The concept is still good but the plot needs a lot of work. I plan on giving the novel an entire rewrite.

  • Win NaNoWriMo:

I hope to participate in this year’s NaNoWriMo with the hopes of getting another novel idea down on paper. The event takes place in November, so at least I have time to prepare myself!

I think these goals will keep me busy, so I’ll stop there. I would love nothing more to hear about your goals, both in reading and writing.

Image result for you got this gifs

“you can, you should, and if you’re brave enough to start, you will.” -Stephen King, On Writing: A Memoir of the Craft

 

One thought on “I Would Rather Be Writing

  1. Pingback: February Writing Update – I would rather be reading

Leave a Reply

