Of Book Hauls and Resolutions

I thought I would do a finalImage result for a monster calls post for the year covering my latest book haul as well as reading plans for 2017! First, let’s discuss my latest acquisitions. I must have been a good boy this year as I obtained several new books (and one bookish game) this Christmas. My wonderful spouse got me the illustrated version of A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness. I promised her to make this my first read of 2017, and I couldn’t be more excited! It looks like a fun read and it’s beautifully illustrated. I also received an awesome book puzzle game that will provide me with hours of challenging fun! Image result for by the book stacking puzzle

This year my wife and I celebrated the holidays with her parents in Florida. It is beautiful here, and I’m still getting over spending Christmas in shorts weather. My in-laws are always so generous, and this year they blessed me several more books:

  • The Magician’s Land by Lev Grossman-The trilogy is finally complete! I have been wanting the final chapter of this excellent series for some time. This will definitely be my second read of 2017.
  • Bradbury Stories: 100 of his Most Celebrated Tales-One of my “resolutions” for next year is to explore more short stories so this will be a great place to start. Ray Bradbury is one of my all-time favorites, and I look forward to tackling this mammoth book of his best work.
  • Play Therapy: The Art of the Relationship by Gary L. Landreth-Most of you don’t know that I am a licensed child therapist. One of my goals for next year is to read more literature in my profession in order to strengthen my skills. This looks like an excellent read from one of the world’s leading therapists.
  • No-Talk Therapy for Children and Adolescents by Martha B. Straus-This book looks fun as it explores alternate techniques to use with young clients.

My first year as a book blogger is nearly over. Fortunately, I achieved my goal of hitting 50 books. I finished out at 52 with 21 of those titles off the 1001 book list. With 2017 rapidly approaching, I’ve decided to increase the difficulty. I will be taking part in a few reading challenges next year.

Here are my 2017 reading resolutions:

  • Reading and reviewing at least 50 books
  • Participating in the Back to the Classics challenge over at Books and Chocolate as this will push me to cover more classic literature. Click here for my list.
  • I like the look of the 2017 reading challenge over at POPSUGAR as they provide some interesting prompts to help diversify your reading. This one will be fun!
  • I’m also thinking about joining The Classics Club for my long-term reading goals. For this group, you make a list of 50 or more classics you want to read and blog about over the next five years.
  • Just like last year, it is my hope to tackle more of the books from the 1001 Books list.

I will stress myself out if I add anything else, so let’s go with these. I will be adding new pages to my blog to help track my progress on each of these goals.

There is one final post coming (a double review) and then I am done for this year! Bring it on 2017!

 

Leave a Reply

