Book Challenges and Book Haul

As my first year of book blogging rapidly comes to a close, I thought it would be a great idea to give myself some challenges next year. Although I hit my goal of reading 50 books, I want to push myself even harder in 2017. Next year, I’m participating  in my first Back to the Classics challenge over at Books and Chocolate (click the link for details). I decided to pick books I’ve never read as this will give me an excuse to finally get some of my own books completed. Here are the categories, and my selections for each:

1.  A 19th Century Classic – Oliver Twist by Charles Dickens

2.  A 20th Century Classic – Lolita by Vladimir Nabokov

3.  A classic by a woman author-To the Lighthouse by Virginia Woolf

4.  A classic in translation-The Adventures of Pinnochio by Carlo Collodi

5.  A classic published before 1800-Don Quixote by Miguel de Cervantes

6.  A romance classic-A Long Fatal Love Chase and The Inheritance by Louisa May Alcott

7.  A Gothic or horror classicThe Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde by Robert Louis Stevenson

8.  A classic with a number in the title-20,000 Leagues Under the Sea by Jules Verne

9.  A classic about an animal or which includes the name of an animal in the title-Moby Dick by Herman Melville

10. A classic set in a place you’d like to visit-Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll

11. An award-winning classic-Stranger in a Strange Land by Robert A. Heinlein (Hugo)

12. A Russian ClassicThe Brothers Karamozov by Fyodor Dostoyevsky

I will probably participate in a few more challenges next year. Over at POPSUGAR, there is an interesting one, so I may try my hand at that one too. If any of you know of other reading challenges, please let me know.

The space on my bookshelf is practically nonexistent. Here are the books accumulated in the month of November:

img_0130

Hopefully, I can get these read in the near future (at least by 2018). I’m really looking forward to checking out Let Me In and Slade House. Another goal for 2017 is to check out more graphic novels.

Happy December everyone!

 

 

4 thoughts on “Book Challenges and Book Haul

    1. Joel Getter

      That’s awesome! I read some of Melville’s works earlier this year, so I’m really excited to try to tackle Moby Dick! I may make a change or two to my list, but I’m definitely keeping that one on there.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Pingback: Of Book Hauls and Resolutions – I would rather be reading

  2. Pingback: Tracking Your Reading – I would rather be reading

Leave a Reply

