Round-Up: October 2016

This year is certainly flying by fast! I’m down to just two months to complete my first year’s reading goals. Sadly, I did not accomplish nearly enough as I wanted to with either my reading or my blog. I’ve been busy with my own writing in addition to becoming a weekly contributor for my friend Barry’s website at arrowverse.tv. If you are a fan of super hero shows, you should go check it out! I got into Arrow a few months back and now I’m hooked on all four shows. Currently, I review the new episodes of Supergirl. It’s a really fun show worth checking out!

Anyway, back to this blog. For Halloween, I’ll be reviewing not one but two classic novels from the legendary Richard Matheson. My copy also included several of his short stories, which range from really fun to extremely frightening. It’s easy to see how he was such an influence on Ray Bradbury and Stephen King.

Yesterday, I picked up a copy of a book that has three novellas from Michel Faber. I totally fell in love with this writer after reading his phenomenal masterpiece Under the Skin last year. One of the stories is a modern update on the Hansel and Gretel tale. Major excite on this end! Since I’ve never read anything by this writer, I also grabbed a copy of his novel Under the Skin. I have a strong feeling he will become a new favorite.

Image result for michel faber the courage consort

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Next month I plan to post several more of my own short stories on the blog, including the final installment of “Glass” the twisted fairy tale story I wrote years ago. I’m hoping it sparks me to start working on new material again!

I hope everyone has a safe and happy Halloween!

 

Leave a Reply

