A Big Mountain to Climb

One of my fondest memories from childhood is my first trip to buy a book. My mom took me to our local bookstore. I remember my eyes being full of wonder at the mountains of books. The owner of this particular shop didn’t use any type of organization, so there were books on the shelves, stacked on tables, and piled high in the corners! The owner was an extremely kind man who told me I could have one book of my choosing for free. He looked down on me and told me that I was definitely going to be a bookaholic. How right he was! The home that I share with my beautiful wife does at times resemble the chaotic disarray of the bookstore I remember from my childhood.

books

I ended up selecting a children’s version of A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens. It still sits on my bookshelves. Although I’m sure I owned lots of children’s books prior to this one, it’s the one I will always remember and cherish.

One of my prized books in my collection is 1001 Books You Must Read Before You Die. It typically gets updated every few years, but I have a master list that includes every title that has been on it. My hope for this year is to read at least 50 books from this list.

My first official month of tracking my reading exploits is nearly over, and I’ve hit the ground running. Getting an early start into this year definitely helped (I’m almost done with book number 8), but I’ve got many more steps in order to accomplish my reading goals. Meanwhile, I continue to accrue more books in addition to my book haul over Christmas.

I started this blog as a way to track all of the books I’ve read over a given year, but I’m beginning to see that I have an opportunity to inspire other readers to pursue great literature. I’m excited to see how far I can grow this little blog of mine.

“A room without books is like a body without a soul.”-Marcus Tullius Cicero

Leave a Reply

